Venturing Shooting Awards

BSA Shooting Sports Outstanding Achievement Award.

While working on the Ranger Shooting Sports elective, Venturers and Sea Scouts are to complete one of the following disciplines: air pistol, air rifle, archery, muzzleloading rifle, shotgun, pistol, or small-bore rifle. However, Venturers and Sea Scouts who go beyond the basic requirement and complete five of the seven disciplines will earn the Venturing Shooting Sports Outstanding Achievement Award. This beautiful medal and certificate are sponsored by many companies and organizations in the shooting sports industry to recognize outstanding achievement in shooting sports. For more information, go to Venturing/Awards/shooting.aspx. Hunter education. Contact your local department of natural resources for more information on hunter safety and education, or find information online at

NRA Outstanding Achievement Youth Award

This award recognizes NRA junior members who take an active part in shooting sports through individual participation and educational pursuits. The award is designed to increase awareness of the shooting sport activities available for youth. For more information, contact NRA Youth Programs or visit the website at Link

Winchester/NRA Marksmanship Qualification Program

This is the perfect opportunity to enjoy year-round shooting while, at the same time, a Scout can earn awards for each level they reach. The courses of fire start at a level for the beginning shooter’s skills, which means a Scout can earn the first rating of Pro-Marksman even if they are just learning to shoot. The ratings continue to advance to the more challenging skills through the intermediate levels (Marksman 1st Class, Sharpshooter, and Expert) to the nationally recognized skill level of Distinguished Expert. The levels of shooting can be earned in each of the different qualification courses. For more information, go to Link

National Rifle Association Postal Matches

A National Camp Postal Match program is available with instant recognition for participants in long-term summer camps. Immediate recognition is provided weekly to winners in each participating council camp. National recognition is provided to top scorers in each division (Junior, first-year camper; Senior, seasoned camper) in each participating camp and to overall top scorers. For additional information, contact the Competitions Division, National Rifle Association, 11250 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030. The website is Link

National Rifle Association Youth Hunter Education Challenge

The website is Link

Sporting clay events

Sporting clays courses offer a wide variety of shots that simulate those found in hunting upland birds, waterfowl, and rabbits. Each sporting clay course is unique and presents a mix of close, midrange, and distant shots traveling at various speeds from several traps. Refer to the Shotgun Shooting merit badge book for more information.

Five-stand sporting clays

Shooters can test their skills in a modified five-stand environment. Modified five-stand sporting clays. Shooters can test their skills in a modified five-stand environment.

Sea Scout Marksmanship Award

The Sea Scout Marksmanship Program gives Sea Scout youth an opportunity to learn and be rewarded for their accomplishments. Shooting sports can enhance a ship’s program when on-the-water activities are not possible.

To earn this award, Sea Scouts must begin with the Basic Shooter requirements after choosing the discipline or disciplines (rifle, shotgun, or pistol). A Scout may choose to learn how to shoot more than one firearm. A Sea Scout Shooting Sports Medal is earned after a Sea Scout completes the Basic Shooter level, no matter what discipline they shoot. From the main medal, small metal bars attach that show the Scout’s discipline and level of accomplishment. Sea Scouts only wear that bar for the highest level they have achieved.  If a Scout shoots all three disciplines, they will have the maximum number of bars suspended from their medal.

For requirements and details, go to