MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Jewish Awards Program 

It was a natural outgrowth of the relationship between Scouting andJewish organizations that the religious emblems program was originated to give recognition to youth who had demonstrated religious growth. In 1945 the National Jewish Committee on Scouting issued the Ner Tamid emblem for Boy Scouts and Venturers who are Jewish. Today there is also the Aleph emblem for Cub Scouts and the Maccabee emblem for Tiger Cubs who are Jewish.

Since these emblems were designed and implemented by Rabbis and not by the Boy Scouts of America, it is appropriate that they be presented during a religious service at a youth’s synagogue.

The National Jewish Committee offers several religious emblem programs to further a Scout’s religious involvement and education. Programs are tailored to be age and grade appropriate from the youngest Cub Scout to Boy Scouts, Venturers and Sea Scouts.

Jewish Religious Emblems programs are crafted for Tiger Scouts, Cub Scouts, Webelos, Boy Scouts and Venturers so that all scouts can earn not only the religious emblem, but also their religious knot. Each religious emblem is an adventure filled with exploration, discovery, wonder and family involvement. Click here for the Religious Emblems Requirements External Link The Jewish Committee on Scouting has developed workbooks to assist Scouts in earning their Religious emblems. Click the emblem packet you are interested in earning. 

Please send all religious emblem applications to the

Jewish Committee on Scouting

c/o Westchester-Putnam Council

41 Saw Mill River Road

Hawthorne, NY 10532



If you are interested in joining the WPC Jewish Committee on Scouting, please email us at the address above.

Copyright © 2019 Westchester-Putnam Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®