MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In


Follow us...




National OA Distinguished Service Award

The OA Distinguished Service Award (DSA) was created in 1940 to honor those who have rendered service to the Order beyond the lodge level.  The award is presented to those Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a Sectional, Regional, or National basis.  It is given primarily for dedicated service to the Order and Scouting over a period of years.

The first were presented at Camp Twin Echo in Pennsylvania to E. Urner Goodman, Carroll A. Edson and nine others at the 1940 National meeting.  Between 1940 and the first National Conference in 1948, the award was presented at National meetings as deserving members were found.  Thereafter, the award presentation became a traditional part of the pageantry and ceremony of the National OA Conference (NOAC).

Since the time of the first awards in 1940, 908 Distinguished Service Awards have been awarded by 2012.  This alone is testament to its high standard of excellence.

The following members of Ktemaque Lodge have been
awarded the National OA Distinguished Service Award:

2012 - Jess A. Hurwitz, Yorktown Heights, NY [Ktemaque 15]
1990 - Robert E. Fenty Jr., Peekskill, NY [Ktemaque 15]
1977 - John B. Forrest Jr., Fayetteville, NC [formerly Mide 15]
1965 - Milton M. Fluegelman, Scarsdale, NY [Chappegat 15]
1961 - Cedric Sintzenich, Pelham, NY [Chappegat 15]

Copyright © 2019 Westchester-Putnam Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®