MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In


Follow us...






Order of the Arrow Honors


The Order of the Arrow has three levels of membership. These levels are Ordeal Membership, Brotherhood membership, and the Vigil Honor.  These are not ranks, but they show to some degree, the activeness of the individual in the lodge.  A youth member (under 21) of any membership level may hold any youth position within the lodge.  An adult (over 21) of any membership level may serve as an adviser to the youth members of the lodge.


After a Scout is elected by his unit to become a member of the Order of the Arrow, he becomes an Ordeal candidate.  The induction process, called the Ordeal, is the first step toward full membership in the Order.  Upon completion of the Ordeal and its ceremony, the member is expected to strengthen his involvement in his unit and encourage Scout camping.   When he completes his Ordeal, he becomes a member of Ktemaque Lodge #15, W.W.W.  This gives him the right to attend all lodge functions and activities, and to continue on the Inductions Journey to Brotherhood.


The Brotherhood is an opportunity for Order of the Arrow members to evaluate their past contributions to their unit, Scouting and the Lodge, and to reaffirm their belief in the high purposes of the Order.  The Brotherhood Quest and Ceremony is intended as a source of inspiration, motivating its members to render even greater service to the Lodge and Scouting. 

After 10 months of service as an Ordeal member and after fulfilling certain requirements, a member may take part in the Brotherhood ceremony, which places further emphasis on the ideals of Scouting and the Order. Completion of this ceremony signifies full membership in the Order of the Arrow.

Vigil Honor

The Vigil Honor is a high mark of distinction and recognition reserved for those Arrowmen who, by reason of exceptional service, personal effort, and unselfish interest, have made distinguished contributions beyond the immediate responsibilities of their position or office to one or more of the following: Ktemaque Lodge #15, Westchester-Putnam Council, and/or our Council's Scout Camps. 

After two years of exceptional service as a Brotherhood member, and with the approval of the national Order of the Arrow committee, a youth or adult Arrowman may be recognized with the Vigil Honor for their distinguished contributions to their lodge, the Order of the Arrow, Scouting, or their Scout camp.   This honor is bestowed by special selection and is limited to one Arrowman for every 50 members registered with the lodge each year. 
Copyright © 2019 Westchester-Putnam Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®