MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Cub Scout Advancement Cub Scout Ranks

The Cub Scout program is centered primarily in the den, the home and neighborhood, but often takes place in the outdoors. It leads to advancement through six ranks. Bobcat

Regardless of what age or grade a boy joins Cub Scouting, he begins with the Bobcat rank. It involves learning about the values, signs, and symbols of the Boy Scouts of America and Cub Scouting. While he is working on Bobcat he may work simultaneously on the rank for his age or grade, but he must finish Bobcat before any other rank is awarded. Note that Cub Scouts do not go back and work on ranks missed due to their age at the time of joining. Tiger, Wolf, and Bear

For Tiger, Wolf, and Bear ranks, a Cub Scout completes seven adventures as described in the youth handbooks. “Adventures” are collections of themed, multidisciplinary activities representing approximately three den meetings of engaging content.

Six of the adventures are required and one is chosen from among 39 different electives, 13 of which are available to each of these ranks.

Elective and required adventures may be undertaken at the same time. As the boys finish an adventure, they are awarded a belt loop that is worn on the official Cub Scout belt. Belt loops should be presented as soon as possible.

When the requirements for each rank are fulfilled, the rank badge is presented at the next pack meeting.

Note that although participation with an adult partner is required for all Tiger adventures, recognition items are for the Cub Scouts only.








Example Adventure Beltloops Presented at the Completion of Each Adventure:





 Webelos and Arrow of Light

Just as with the previous ranks, Webelos Scouts enjoy seven adventures as they earn the Webelos and Arrow of Light ranks.

For Webelos, five are required and two are elective. For Arrow of Light, four are required and three are elective. There are a total of 18 electives available that are shared for these two ranks.

An adventure pin is awarded for each completed adventure. These may be worn on the Webelos colors or on the front of the Webelos cap. The boys are free to work on required and elective adventure pins at the same time. Adventure pins should be presented as soon as possible.

Webelos, an acronym for “WE’ll BE LOyal Scouts,” is the rank for boys who have completed third grade or are 10 years old. Webelos Scouts can choose between the diamond and oval patches for uniform wear.

When the requirements for the Webelos or Arrow of Light ranks are fulfilled, the rank badge is presented at the next pack meeting. Arrow of Light is Cub Scouting’s final rank before Boy Scouts. Much of the experience gives the Cub Scouts the chance to practice skills that prepare them to become Boy Scouts. Once completed, the rank should be presented during an impressive ceremony involving Scouts from a local Scout troop. Their involvement may encourage the eventual “bridging” of recipients into the troop.


The minimum age for a Webelos Scout who has earned the Arrow of Light Award to become a Boy Scout is 10 years old. The requirements for joining Boy Scouting, as stated in the Boy Scout Handbook, include the following:

“Be a boy who is 11 years old, or one who has completed the fifth grade or earned the Arrow of Light Award and is at least 10 years old…”

The Arrow of Light rank is the only Cub Scout badge authorized to be worn on the Boy Scout uniform once a boy transitions into a troop; it is worn below the left pocket. On an adult uniform, the Arrow of Light rank is recognized with a red and green square knot worn above the left pocket. More on Webelos and Arrow of Light Adventure Pins

Many adventure pins help Webelos and Arrow of Light Scouts develop interests in areas that may lead to hobbies or career choices. The Webelos and Arrow of Light den leaders and assistants, and the den chief, may handle portions of instruction during meetings.

But some pins will have more meaning when a knowledgeable adventure pin “counselor” works with the boys on the requirements, providing resources, leading field trips, and giving other useful service. A parent or family member, pack leader, teacher, coach, or other adult with talents or skills related to the specific pin may serve in this capacity.

A local Scoutmaster or the district advancement chair can help identify merit badge counselors who might also work with related adventure pins. Note that except for the references to merit badge counselors, the policies and procedures for adventure pins offered through non-Scouting organizations or businesses, and those regarding charging fees for adventure pin opportunities, are the same as those described in section 7, “The Merit Badge Program,” topics and

Example Adventure Pins Presented at the Completion of Each Adventure:

Webelos Required-







AOL Required-








 Webelos & AOL Electives-  



Copyright © 2019 Westchester-Putnam Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®