MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Eagle Palms About Eagle Palms

Scouts or qualified Venturers and Sea Scouts may earn Palms after they have achieved the Eagle Scout rank. The requirements can be found in the Boy Scout Requirements book. All of the requirements except the board of review must be completed before age 18, and time extensions are not available. Merit badges earned at any time since becoming a Scout may be used. Palms must be earned in sequence, one at a time (Bronze, Gold, Silver), with the time requirement observed for each one. Palms are not considered ranks, but rather degrees of the Eagle Scout rank.

After becoming an Eagle Scout, you may earn Palms by completing the following requirements:

  1. Be active in your troop and patrol for at least three months after becoming an Eagle Scout or after award of last Palm. (Eagle Palms must be earned in sequence, and the three-month tenure requirement must be observed for each Palm.)
  2. Demonstrate Scout spirit by living the Scout Oath and Scout Law in your everyday life.
  3. Make a satisfactory effort to develop and demonstrate leadership ability.
  4. Earn five additional merit badges beyond those required for Eagle or last Palm. (Merit badges earned any time since becoming a Boy Scout may be used to meet this requirement.)
  5. Take part in a Scoutmaster conference.
  6. Complete a board of review.

You may wear only the proper combination of Palms for the number of merit badges you earned beyond the rank of Eagle. The Bronze Palm represents five merit badges, the Gold Palm 10, and the Silver Palm 15.

Copyright © 2018 Westchester-Putnam Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®